The hand

Expertise of excellence

Very early on, the demand for perfection, specific to the luxury world, led Frédéric Mathon to integrate all trades within his workshop, from casting to polishing. This organization was uncommon at a time when the workshops were still small establishments that gathered craftsmen from the same corporation. This process allowed a better control of the jewel quality, throughout the manufacturing operation.

 

Today, the workshop focuses on training young people to develop specialized skills that have become rare, such as chiselling, lacquering, bead threading and watchmaking. This requirement of ongoing education reflects the vision, the ambition and the modernity of the Mathon company.

 


Passion, creativity and meticulousness of craftsmen and trades expertise is fully expressed within design, model’s realization, casting, jewellery, setting and polishing which are key stages in manufacturing. Men and women of Mathon House cultivate and pass on ancestral know-how, to which technology today provides considerable support, pushing the boundaries to go beyond and further.


 

Design

Design

When idea takes shape

Every creation is the result of an emotion, a unique inspiration that comes from a synergy, a designer idea translated through his pencil. On the drawing board first, then with the help of a 3D design software, the idea takes shape, the volume is structured around tiny mechanisms to materialize exceptional jewellery piece. Silhouette, comfort and fluidity of the piece are all components that provide an optimal rendering, which, on the finger, neck or wrist of client must be noticeable.

Yohan, Creator – Designer

Casting

Casting

Metamorphosis

The first step of materialization of the piece is the casting. This is the fundamental step of the birth of precious metal jewellery. This was made possible by a complete transformation process.

The waxes made by the modeller are mounted on a tree, which is cast in the plaster. This plaster is a negative image of the object to be melted. The passage in the oven allows the sublimation of the wax. The gold transformation then happens. The molten metal poured into the crucible replaces the wax in the plaster tree. A thermal shock is needed to break the crust of the tree and reveal the fruits: a multitude of gold pieces that will be the building part of the jewellery. So many stages disrupt the creation of the jewel with suspense, and make the richness and complexity of the profession of foundry as it perpetually evolves.

Christophe - Founder

Jewelery

Jewelery

Metal work

The jeweller works, limes and softens the gold pieces from issued by the casting operation. He shaped and assembled with meticulousness, dexterity and patience, all the elements of the jewel before welding them, in order to bring forth a volume according to the design of the creator. The sensitivity of the touch, the precision of the gesture and the accuracy of the eye are at the heart of the meticulous construction of the jewel. Worn by the client, the piece must be a second skin and stand out. All the art of the jeweller lies in this careful attention between the magnificence of the jewel and the indispensable lightness of the piece.

Élodie - Jeweller

Polishing

Polishing

Revealing a passion

The vocation of the polisher is to sublimate the precious metal. With his cotton cloths, brushes, and stamps, he works to remove all the imperfections of the metal to give it the desired finish – brushed, satin, or shiny. In synergy with the jeweller and the gemsetter, the polisher brings rhythm into the construction of the piece. His impeccable and meticulous search, in every angle in search of the slightest defect, even invisible to the eye, reveals the beauty of the jewel. The high standard of perfection attached to polishing a piece testifies to the high quality of French jewellery.

Thibaut - Polisher

Setting

Setting

Magnificent gems

First of all, the gemsetter dreams of the piece. Then like the stress of the actor who goes on stage, he uses his expertise to bring to life his vision of the jewel. It is a matter now of using one’s talents to choose the appropriate setting. Then, meticulously, he prepares the metal to receive the gem, draws his nets at the stall and enshrines the stones one by one in gold or platinum. He completes his work by beading the grains or by folding the prongs of a bezel with infinite delicacy and great dexterity. The gemsetter advances in conjunction with the jeweller and polisher, sensitive to the fragility of the gems he works. The expertise of the gemsetter is to magnify the jewel, to bring to life its essence because, etymologically, jewellery is defined as the art of enhancing the stones.

Hayk - Gemsetter

LA MAIN

Des savoir-faire d’excellence

Très tôt, l’exigence de perfection, propre à l’univers du luxe, a conduit Frédéric Mathon à intégrer tous les métiers au sein de son atelier, de la fonte au polissage. Cette organisation - peu courante à une époque où les ateliers sont encore de petits établissements regroupant les artisans d’une même corporation - permet la maitrise de la qualité des fabrications, tout au long du processus de réalisation du bijou.

 

Aujourd’hui, l’atelier s’attache à former ses jeunes pour développer en son sein des savoir-faire spécialisés devenus rares comme le ciselage, le laquage, l’enfilage de perles ou l’horlogerie. Cette exigence de constante remise en question/formation continue témoigne de la vision, de l’ambition et de la modernité de l’entreprise Mathon.

 


La conception, la réalisation de la maquette, la fonte, la joaillerie, le sertissage et le polissage sont autant d’étapes-clé de la fabrication du bijou à travers lesquelles s’expriment la passion, la créativité et la rigueur des artisans et des métiers d’expertise. Les hommes et les femmes de la Maison Mathon cultivent et se transmettent un savoir-faire ancestral, auquel la technologie apporte aujourd’hui un soutien considérable, permettant de repousser toujours plus loin les limites du possible, du réalisable.


 

La création

La création

Quand l’idée prend forme

Toute création naît d’une émotion ; elle est le fruit d’une inspiration unique qui jaillit d’une rencontre, celle d’une idée avec le coup de crayon du dessinateur. Sur la planche à dessin d’abord, puis à l’aide d’un logiciel de conception 3D, l’idée prend forme, le volume se structure autour de mécanismes minuscules pour éclore en une pièce de joaillerie d’exception. L’esthétique, le confort, la fluidité de la pièce sont autant de composantes qui président à la réussite de la pièce, qui, au doigt, au cou ou au poignet de sa cliente doit faire évidence.

Yohan, Créateur - Concepteur

La fonte

La fonte

La magie de la transformation

Première étape de matérialisation de l’objet, la fonte c’est l’étape fondamentale de la naissance du bijou en métal précieux, rendue possible par la transmutation .

Les cires réalisées par le maquettiste sont montées sur un arbre, lequel est coulé dans le plâtre. Ce plâtre est une image en négatif de l’objet à fondre. Le passage au four permet la sublimation de la cire. Puis, opère la magie de la transformation de l’or. Le métal en fusion coulé dans le creuset prend la place de la cire dans l’arbre en plâtre. Un choc thermique est nécessaire pour casser la croûte de l’arbre et en révéler les fruits : une multitude de pièces en or qui seront les éléments constitutifs des bijoux de demain. Autant d’étapes qui rythment avec suspens la création du bijou, et font la richesse et la complexité du métier de fondeur en perpétuelle évolution.

Christophe, Fondeur

La joaillerie

La joaillerie

Le travail du métal

Le joaillier travaille, lime et émerise les pièces issues de la fonte. Il façonne et assemble avec minutie, dextérité et patience, tous les éléments du bijou avant de les souder, afin de faire jaillir un volume conforme au dessein du créateur. La sensibilité du toucher, la précision du geste et la justesse de l’œil sont au cœur de la construction méticuleuse du bijou. Portée par la cliente, la pièce doit être une seconde peau, comme une évidence. Tout l’art du joaillier réside dans ce travail de funambule entre magnificence du bijou et nécessaire légèreté de l’objet au porter.

Élodie, Joaillière

Le polissage

Le polissage

La passion de la révélation

La vocation du polisseur est de sublimer le métal précieux. Avec ses jaconas, ses brosses, et ses tampons, il travaille à faire disparaitre toutes les imperfections du métal pour lui donner la finition souhaitée -brossé, satiné, ou brillant. En symbiose avec le joaillier et le sertisseur, le polisseur s’adapte avec souplesse au rythme de la construction de la pièce. Sa recherche implacable et minutieuse, dans tous les recoins, du moindre défaut, même invisible à l’œil, permet de révéler la beauté du bijou. L’exigence de perfection attaché au polissage d’une pièce est un témoignage de la haute qualité de la joaillerie française.

Thibaut, Polisseur

Le sertissage

Le sertissage

La sublimation des gemmes

Avant toute chose, le sertisseur rêve de la pièce. Puis avec le trac de l’acteur qui monte sur scène, il met en œuvre son expertise pour rendre sensible sa vision du bijou. Il s’agit maintenant de mobiliser ses talents pour choisir le serti adapté. Alors, avec minutie, il prépare le métal pour recevoir la gemme, trace ses filets à l’échoppe et enchâsse une à une les pierres dans l’or ou le platine. Il parachève son ouvrage en perlant les grains ou en rabattant les griffes d’un chaton avec une infinie délicatesse et une grande dextérité. Le sertisseur avance de concert, avec le joaillier et le polisseur, sensible à la fragilité des gemmes qu’il travaille. L’expertise du sertisseur est de magnifier le bijou, de le faire exister dans son essence car, étymologiquement, la joaillerie, se définit comme l’art de mettre en valeur les pierres.

Hayk, Sertisseur